


Exceptions to Ownership & Occupancy Requirements:

» If Praoperty is Owned by Trust, Corperate Partnership or Legal
Fartity: The ownership requirement may be satisfied 1f your
praperty is owned by 4 rust, a corpomate partnership, or other
legal entity solely for estate planning purposes.

You andfor your spouse must be the maker of the trusl or s
principal of the corporate partnewship or legal entity. I the
property was not owned by the trust, corporate partnership or
other legal entity, it would be owned by you and/or your
SPOUN,

or

» {f Confined to [Healthcare Fucitily: The occupancy
requirernent may be satisfied even though occupancy has
been interrupled by confinement of the applicant or spouse
to a nursimg home, hospilal or assisted living facility. While
conlingd to the health care facility, the property was/is
unoccupied, or it was/is occupied only by the spouse of the
person confined or by a financial dependent.

or

» If Prior Residence was Condemncd or Destroved by a Natural
Disaster; The ownership and occupaney reyuirements may
be satisfied if the 10-year time frame was not met dug to the
condemnation of the prior residence by a povernmental
entify in an eminent domain proceeding, or if the prior
residence was destroyed or otherwise rendered uninhalitable
by a natural disaster. This exception applies if you would still
live inthe prior residence had the event not occurred, and you
would meet the I0-year ownership and occupancy
requirements for Lhat property or you would qualify as a
surviving spouse Lor thatl property, und you have not been the
owner and occupier of any olher residence since the time of
the event.

or

v Supviving Speuse Option, Spouse Passed \way Prior to
January I: If your spouse passed away prior to January 1,
you can still qualify if your spouse met the reguirements
staled in “Shor Form Qualifications™ on January 1, 2002, or
cri any January 1 thereafter, and you othenwise meet the
reguirernents for the surviving spouse oplion,

Disabled Veterans Exemption

In 2006, voters amended Colorado’s Constitution to extend Lhe
senior exemplion (o disabled veterans. Qualifying veterans are
those who have a 100 percent permanent disability rating from
the fwderal Department of Veterans Affairs through disability
retirement benefits from a service-connected disability, who have
owned and occupied the property as their primary résidence since
January 1. In 2014, Colomdo’s Legislature extended Lhis
exempion to the surviving spouse of a disabled veleran who
previously received the exemption

Applications are available rom the Colorado Department of
Military and Veterans Aftairs, Division of Veteran's Atfairs, 155
Van Gordon St, Suite 20]1, Lakewood CO 80222 Their
elephone number is 303-914-5832, You can also obtain fonns
from the Deparment’s web site at hitps://vets.colorado.gov or
[rewms the wel wile Al the Cadewades Dvien of” Prenore TaNation
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SHORT FORM INSTRUCTIONS

Note: For 1 and 3 below, you must include lhe name and social
security number of each person who occupies the property as his
or het primary residence,

1. Identity the qualifying senicr and the property in tis section,

o The applicant™s Social Security number is required. For an
explanstion, please review 3 below,

n  Life estate It is permissible for ownership 1o be held in a life
estate. If ownership is held n a life estate, checking the life
estate box will assist the assessor™s office in processing your
application.

2. Age, cccupancy, and ownership - In order to use the Short
Form. all three questions in this section must be answered ~Troe™.
If any questions are “False™, please review the Long Form
Qualifications to see if you still qualify.

3. Pumsuant to § 39-3-205(¢a)() and (110, and 8-2-128(2).
C.R33., the name andd Social Seeurity number of each individual
who occupies the propedy must be listed on the application form.
Names and social sceurity wmnnbers are uded to enswre that o
individual or martied couple applies for the exemption on mere than
ote propermy. The statute requires that the information be kept
confidential. If your husband or wile occupies the property, he or
she must be listed on Lhe first line and identified as your spouse. It
more than three additional people oceupy the property. you can
attach an additional sheet wilh their names and social security
numbers,

4. You must sign and date the form. Ifthe form is signed on behalf
of the applicant by a puardian. conservator. ar attomey-in- fact,
that person must provide documentation of his of her suthority in
the form of a court order or power of atlorney. If there is a contact
person ather than the applicant, please provide the name and
telephone mamber of that person.

If you have anmy questions, please coniact your county
assessor’s office,

San Juan County Assessor

PO Box 596 / 1557 Greene St

Silverton CO 81433

970-387-5632
sanjuancounty.colorado.gov/exemptions
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SHORT FORM: PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION FOR SENIORS

San Juan County Assessor

CONFIDENTIAL PO Box 596 / 1557 Greene St
Silverton CO 81433

970-387-5632
1. Identification of Applicant and Property

Applicant's First Name, Middle Initial, and Last Name Social Security Number Date of Birth

Property Address (number & street name) Schedule or Parcel Number

City or Town State Zip Code Telephone Number
CoO

Mailing Address (if different from property address) Check box if ownership is

held in a life estate.

2. Age, Occupancy, and Ownership Requirements
Each question must be answered "True"” to qualify using this form.

As of January 1 of this year, | am at least 65 years old. True False

The owner of record for the property described above is either a) me, b) my spouse, or c¢) both of us. The

property has been owned by one or both of us for at least 10 consecutive years prior to January 1 of this year.

During periods when the property was owned by my spouse and not by me, my spouse and | were married, and

my spouse occupied the property as his or her primary residence. True False

| occupy the property described above as my primary residence, and | have done so for at least
10 consecutive years prior to January 1 of this year. True False

3. Each additional person who occupies the property as his or her primary residence must be listed here.
(Attach an additional sheet if necessary.)

3A. Person who also occupies property as primary residence Spouse Social Security Number
Yes No

3B.1 Person who also occupies property as primary residence Social Security Number

3B.2 Person who also occupies property as primary residence Social Security Number

4. Affidavit and Signature
I declare, under penalty of perjury in the second degree (§ 18-8-503, C.R.S.), that the
information I provided on this form and on any attachments is correct.

Signature: Date:
Signer is: Applicant Spouse Guardian* Conservator* Attorney-in-fact®
* Authorization in the form of a court order or power of attorney is required.

Other Contact: Telephone Number:

(relative, personal representative, etc.)

The assessor must be informed of any change in ownership or occupancy of the property
within 60 days of when the change occurs.

Mail or deliver this form to your county assessor by July 15. We recommend you obtain a receipt
when delivering the form in person, or mail the form by certified mail. You may also call the assessor
prior to July 15 to ensure that it was received.



