Board of County Commisioners

San Juan Board of County Commissioners

District 1
Commissioner: Austin Lashley (Chairman)
Location Description: Generally East of Greene Street and North of 10th Street. Includes Cascade Village in South County
2020 Census Population: 234
Austin is a local business owner and was elected in 2020. He previously served on the Silverton Town Board.

District 2
Commissioner: Scott Fetchenhier
Location Description: Generally West of Greene Street and North of 10th Street.
2020 Census Population: 231
Scott was elected in 2012. He has previously served on the Silverton District #1 School Board.

District 3
Commissioner: Pete Maisel
Location Description: Generally South of 10th Street.
2020 Census Population: 240
Pete is the incoming Commissioner for District 3, elected in November 2022. Pete is a local business owner and has served as a Town of Silverton Trustee.

The Board of County Commissioners serves as the administrative and policy-making body for San Juan County. The Commissioners are elected by voters to represent three districts. The Board approves the budget, hires staff, oversees land-use planning and development, and administers county services.

Voters elect the Clerk and Recorder, Sheriff, Assessor, Treasurer, Coroner and District Attorney, although the Board sets the budget for these offices each year.

See Resolution 2023-09 for full descriptions of each District.
Interactive Map Link  |  Map with Census Block Population (pdf)  |  Map with Aerial Imagery (pdf)

About County Government 
Counties in Colorado are a constitutional subdivision of state government. Their boundaries, which are set forth in statute, were drawn by the General Assembly. Initially, counties were created to carry out the programs and policies of the state. These functions have grown over the years to encompass many policy and operational areas not contemplated 130 years ago. Counties can exercise only those powers specifically expressed in statute or in the constitution.

County Government Structure 
For most purposes, San Juan County acts through its Board of County Commissioners (BOCC). The three-member board acts, by majority vote of a quorum present, to adopt ordinances in those limited areas for which specific authority has been given by the State Legislature, and to adopt resolutions to conduct all of its other business. The BOCC performs legislative, executive and quasi-judicial functions. The Board serves as the legislative, policy-making and administrative body governing the unincorporated areas of San Juan County. The BOCC appoints a County Administrator to carry out the policy directions of the Board and to supervise and coordinate the work of the staff in the departments that fall under direct control of the Board. With the exception of the County Attorney, the County Administrator will have line authority over all County divisions under the BOCC. The County Attorney is a constitutionally prescribed county office. By statute, the County Attorney is a position that is filled by appointment of the BOCC. The County Attorney's Office provides legal advice and representation for the BOCC. The County Attorney, with the approval of the BOCC, also advises and represents all other San Juan County elected officials, the County Administrator, department and division heads, and appointed commissions, boards and committees.

County Courthouse
1557 Greene St
PO Box 466
Silverton, CO 81433

As we are a very small County, our Commissioners do not hold regular office hours or have physical offices. Messages through the above contact information will reach the Commissioners as soon as possible.