Forest Service Closure and Fire Restrictions

April 7, 2020

The USDA Forest Service - Rocky Mountain Region has ordered the temporary closure of developed recreation sites along with the implementation of fire restrictions throughout the Region to align with local, state and federal orders and guidelines to protect public health and safety. The region includes 24 national forests and grasslands across Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming, and includes the San Juan National Forest.

While developed recreation sites are temporarily closed, dispersed camping, hiking and river uses are allowed, although discouraged.

Fire restrictions prohibit the use of fire, including campfires and charcoal grills. Additionally, smoking is prohibited except within an enclosed vehicle or building.

Please read the full order for more details and information on the order, which went into effect on April 7 and this order includes SOUTH MINERAL CAMPGROUNDS & LITTLE MOLAS LAKE CAMPGROUND here in San Juan County.


Email to sign up for San Juan County email updates.

Thank you.

DeAnne Gallegos
Public Information Officer
San Juan County Office of Emergency Management